CFS 20 Years

Center for Subjectivity Research 2002-2022

On March 1st-2nd 2022 the Center for Subjectivity Research (CFS) will be celebrating its 20-year anniversary. You are all are welcome to join for an exciting two-day event of academic talks by current and former employees and friends of the CFS reflecting the influence the centre has had on their work over the years.

Since 2002 the CFS has carried out research on the self and its relations to others and the world from an interdisciplinary perspective. This effort has explicitly sought to further the integration of different philosophical traditions, in particular phenomenology and analytic philosophy of mind. At the same time, it has promoted dialogue between philosophy and the empirical sciences, in particular psychiatry and psychopathology, but also clinical psychology, cognitive science, and developmental psychology. The methodological approach of the CFS has thus been pluralistic, rooted in the firm conviction that a diversity of perspectives is necessary in order to address the topics under consideration.

Over the years, the centre staff have worked systematically on topics such as intentionality, imagination, empathy, action, perception, embodiment, naturalism, self-consciousness, schizophrenia, autism, normativity, anxiety, and trust. It has also done scholarly work on classical thinkers including Kant, Hegel, Kierkegaard, Brentano, Husserl, Heidegger, Stein, Walther, Wittgenstein, Anscombe, Merleau-Ponty, and Levinas.

Registration for on-site participation is now closed.

Online participation is still possible via this link.

March 1, 2022 (all times are CET)

09:00 Welcome by Kirsten Busch Nielsen (Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, University of Copenhagen) and Klaus Bock (former Chairman of the Danish National Research Foundation)

09:20 Dan Zahavi (University of Copenhagen, DK): “CFS: History, contribution, impact”

10:00 Video greetings

10:30 Coffee break

10:45 Joona Taipale (Jyväskylä University, Finland - presenting online): “The modifying mirror: From early interaction to music listening”

11:30 Dorothée Legrand (CNRS, France - presenting online): “From minimal subjectivity to singularities at the least”

12:15 Lunch break

13:15 Philippe Rochat (Emory University, USA): “The self in infancy”

14:00 Søren Overgaard (University of Copenhagen, DK): “Is Perception Controlled Hallucination?”

14:45 Coffee Break

15:00 Andreas Roepstorff (Aarhus University, DK): “Culturally embedded minds”

15:45 Alva Noë (University of California, Berkeley, USA): “Existential style”

16:30 Reception at CFS

March 2, 2022 (all times are CET)

09:00 Naomi Eilan (University of Warwick, UK): “Psychopathy, understandability and character”

09:45 Wenjing Cai (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China - presenting online): “Autonomy or Heteronomy? A Finite Form of Freedom”

10:30 Coffee break

10:45 Glenda Satne (University of Wollongong, Australia - presenting online): “Enacting collective intentionality"

11:30  Iben Damgaard (University of Copenhagen, DK): “The problem of identity”

12:15 Lunch break

13:15 Joel Krueger (University of Exeter, UK): “Affect, Agency, and the Politics of (We-)space: Lessons from Autism”

14:00 Josef Parnas (University of Copenhagen, DK): “The nature of schizophrenia: A clinic-phenomenological perspective”

14:45 Coffee Break

15:00 Shaun Gallagher (University of Memphis, USA - presenting online): “Shared time” 

15:45 Louis Sass (Rutgers University, USA - presenting online): “Phenomenology and psychoanalysis”